Elaboration of Project Proposals


Official Form Sheet: Word/RTF

 

Instructions for Preparation of Project Proposals

 

Introduction

The project proposals for the programme Swiss Virtual Campus have to be worked out in accordance with the original Call for Proposals dated October 1999.

For the final selection process, the project proposals will undergo a variety of evaluations by the Steering Committee Swiss Virtual Campus, international experts, representatives from Universities (UNI), Swiss Federal Institutes of Technology (SFIT) and Universities of Applied Sciences (UAS) as well as from Federal Offices. Therefore, the instructions below have to be carefully followed preparing the proposal.

Projects proposals must be submitted by a project leader (professor) resident at UNI or SFIT or UAS who is responsible for the co-ordination with the project partners. Each project should involve a project leader/project partner network of at least three academic institutions in Switzerland (UNI, SFIT or UAS) that intend to integrate the courseware to be developed in their curricula. Additional academic partners from abroad and business partners that are likely to contribute to the success of the project are invited to join as well, provided that they cover their own expenses.

 

Project Submission

Project proposals must include a summary and be written in English. An additional summary in German, French or Italian is requested. Please use the form sheet available on the web site www.virtualcampus.ch.

The deadline for project proposals is 29th February 2000. Two hardcopies and an editable electronic version (Word or *.rtf Format) are required. The hard copies should be sent to

Schweizerische Hochschulkonferenz

Swiss Virtual Campus

Sennweg 2

3012 Bern

and the soft copies to hans-martin.buerki@shk.ch.

 

The project proposal must comprise the following information:

The project proposals must be signed by the project leader and all principal partners.

The requested information should be filled in a form sheet which can be downloaded from the Swiss Virtual Campus homepage. Please fill out the form sheet and return 2 hardcopies as well as an electronic version by e-mail.

 

In addition, the following documents are requested:

• 'Letter of support' signed by the head of the institution (e.g. rector, vice-rector) of the project leader’s and of all partner institutions that will contribute financially in order to ensure realisation of the project and its continuation beyond an initial period of three years;

• CV of the project leader(applicant), the main partners, and – if available – of the project co-ordinator;

• Requirements to be met by people to be employed for the implementation of the project (particularly the project co-ordinator).

 

 

The further selection process

Each Project Proposal will be assessed by the Steering Committee on the basis of the criteria indicated in the chapter ‘conditions and criteria for project selection’ and the general regulations. The Steering Committee may submit the projects to external pedagogical experts for additional evaluation.

In order to discuss particular aspects of the projects and their possible support by the institutions concerned, the Steering Committee of Swiss Virtual Campus will enter into contact with representatives from rectorates at all UNI, SFIT and UAS involved.

The Steering Committee will submit a list of projects elected for funding by the programme Swiss Virtual Campus to the Swiss University Conference (SUC). Until the creation of the new SUC (2001), the formal funding decision will be taken by Federal Administration.

The authors of the successful project applications will be informed by the end of June 2000. The conditions of the programme request a regulation based on a contract to be signed between all the project partners and the Swiss Virtual Campus.

For further information, please contact Dr Hans-Martin Bürki, co-ordinator of the programme Swiss Virtual Campus (Tel. 031 306 60 67, e-mail: hans-martin.buerki@shk.ch).

Conditions and criteria for project selection

 

The full project proposals submitted should address the aims set out in section 2.1 of the Call for Proposals of October 1999 (see homepage http://www.virtualcampus.ch) and will be evaluated according to the following criteria:

 

Costs/Finances

Swiss Virtual Campus is a joint programme for Universities, Swiss Federal Institutes of Technology (SFIT) and Universities of Applied Sciences (UAS). The Swiss Confederation has budgeted an amount of 30 millions CHF for the cantonal universities. The SFIT and the UAS will contribute with their own funds to the development of the programme. Certain activities that potentially support all institutions of Higher Education (e.g. mandates) can also be financed by the Swiss Virtual Campus programme.

The financing of the programme Swiss Virtual Campus is part of the project-linked federal contributions within the framework of the new University Promotion Law. The Federal Council will only be able to fix the decree and the coming into force of the new law after elapsing time limit of the referendum on 3rd February 2000. According to the federal administration these decisions will be taken in February. More information may follow at that time.

 

Contributions of the Universities taking part in a project

According to the dispositions in force (University Promotion Law, art. 21, para. 1 et 2; Federal Council's message relating to the promotion of education, research and technology for the period 2000 to 2003), the university institutions participating in a project (or the cantons in charge of the universities) will be expected to contribute 50% of the project costs. The Swiss Confederation may exceptionally contribute up to 70% of the total project costs, e.g. if the co-ordination and main work is done for the benefit of other university institutions.

The provision of installations and equipment, meeting and travelling expenses, the cost of rooms especially rented for the project, as well as the salaries of collaborators of the project can be included as part of the university’s own contribution. Overheads not included in other categories can be added up to a maximum of 20% of the salaries budget. However, the contribution of the institution should include the financing of specific expenses for the project Swiss Virtual Campus ('real money') as well as the contributions in kind made by the institution, that is the staff or the installations and equipment of the institution put partly at the disposal of the Swiss Virtual Campus ('virtual money').

 

Costs and financing of the proposed project

The costs of the project can include following expenses: salaries according to local practice (gross salaries), installations and equipment (software/licence costs included), costs for rooms especially rented for the realisation of the project as well as meeting and travelling expenses. Salaries must constitute the major part of the expenses financed by the programme. Salaries of doctoral candidates cannot be charged to the programme since it concerns essentially development, not research, activities.

Please indicate in the form for each year of the project on one hand the planned expenses according to the different categories and on the other hand the financing considered. The financing should include for each partner the contributions in cash ('real money') and the contributions in kind ('virtual money') as well as the expected financing by the programme Swiss Virtual Campus.

Total Project Costs

Project No: Costs Financing by Leader Financing by Partner 1 Financing by Partner 2 Financing by Partner 3 Financing by other Partners Subtotal Leader + Partners Funds requested from Swiss Virtual Campus
Salaries Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr.
Running Costs Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr.
Equipment/Installations Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr.
Travelling Costs Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr.
Total Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr.

 

 

Costs per Year

Year

Total Costs

Contribution by Project Leader + Partners

Contribution by Project Leader + Partners (% of Total Costs)

Funds requested from Swiss Virtual Campus

2000

Fr.

Fr.

%

Fr.

2001

Fr.

Fr.

%

Fr.

2002

Fr.

Fr.

%

Fr.

2003

Fr.

Fr.

%

Fr.

Total

Fr.

Fr.

%

Fr.

Contributions by the Project Applicants

Leader and Partners

Real money

Virtual money

Total

Contribution by each of the Partners in %

Leader

Fr.

Fr.

Fr.

%

Partner 1

Fr.

Fr.

Fr.

%

Partner 2

Fr.

Fr.

Fr.

%

Partner 3

Fr.

Fr.

Fr.

%

Other Partners

Fr.

Fr.

Fr.

%

Total

Fr.

Fr.

Fr.

100 %

Elaboration des propositions de projet    


Formulaire officiel: Word/RTF

Instructions pour l'établissement des propositions de projet

Introduction

Les propositions de projet pour le programme Campus virtuel suisse doivent être établies selon les dispositions de l' "Appel aux propositions" d'octobre 1999.

Lors de la procédure de sélection finale, les propositions de projet seront évaluées par le Comité de pilotage du Campus Virtuel Suisse, par des experts internationaux, par des représentants des universités, des écoles polytechniques fédérales (EPF) et des hautes écoles spécialisées (HES) ainsi que par différents Offices fédéraux. Aussi importe-t-il que les instructions ci-dessous soient soigneusement prises en compte lors de l'élaboration des propositions.

Les propositions de projet doivent être soumises par le requérant principal, professeur dans une université, une EPF ou une HES, qui sera responsable de la coordination entre les partenaires du projet. Chaque projet doit reposer sur un réseau regroupant au moins trois institutions académiques suisses (université, EPF ou HES) qui poursuivent l'objectif de développer et d'intégrer le cours dans leurs cursus d'études. D'autres partenaires universitaires étrangers ou des partenaires commerciaux susceptibles de contribuer au succès du projet sont les bienvenus, à condition de couvrir eux-mêmes leurs frais.

Remise des projets

Les propositions de projet doivent être rédigées en anglais et contenir un résumé. Un résumé supplémentaire en allemand, français ou italien est demandé. A cet effet, il y a lieu d'utiliser la formule officielle disponible sur le site Internet www.virtualcampus.ch.

La date limite de remise des propositions de projet est fixée au 29 février 2000. Elles doivent être déposées en deux exemplaires papier et une version électronique (format word ou *.rtf). Les versions papier sont à envoyer à l'adresse suivante:

Conférence universitaire suisse
Campus virtuel suisse
Sennweg 2
3012 Berne

et la version électronique à hans-martin.buerki@shk.ch.

Les propositions de projet doivent fournir les informations suivantes:

Les propositions de projet doivent être signées par le chef de projet et par tous les partenaires principaux.

Ces informations doivent être livrées au moyen d'un formulaire pouvant être téléchargé de la page d'accueil du Campus Virtuel Suisse sur Internet. Veuillez remplir le formulaire et le retourner par e-mail (+ 2 copies papier).

Les documents suivants doivent être joints à la proposition de projet:

Suite de la procédure de sélection

Chaque proposition de projet sera évaluée par le comité de pilotage en fonction des critères cités dans le document "Conditions et critères de sélection des projets" et des conditions générales. A cet effet, le comité de pilotage pourra faire appel à des experts pédagogiques externes.

Dans l'optique de discuter des différents aspects des projets et du soutien qui pourra leur être accordé par les institutions concernées, le comité de pilotage du Campus Virtuel Suisse prendra contact avec des représentants des rectorats et des directions de toutes les hautes écoles concernées.

Le comité de pilotage soumettra une liste des projets à financer par le programme Campus Virtuel Suisse à la Conférence universitaire suisse (CUS). La décision formelle de financement sera prise par la Confédération en attendant la création de la nouvelle CUS (2001).

Les auteurs de propositions de projet sélectionnées seront informés d'ici la fin du mois de juin 2000. Les conditions du programme impliquent qu'un contrat soit signé par tous les partenaires du projet et par le Campus Virtuel Suisse.

Pour de plus amples informations, veuillez vous adresser à Monsieur Hans-Martin Bürki, coordinateur du programme Campus Virtuel Suisse.

Tél. 031 306 60 67, e-mail: hans-martin.buerki@shk.ch

 

Conditions et critères de sélection des projets

Les propositions de projet doivent viser les objectifs cités au point 2.1 de l' "Appel aux propositions" d'octobre 1999 (voir le site Internet http://www.virtualcampus.ch). Elles seront évaluées selon les critères suivants:

Coûts Financement

Le programme Campus virtuel suisse concerne le domaine des hautes écoles (universités, EPF, HES). La Confédération a prévu une enveloppe de 30 millions de francs pour les universités cantonales. Les EPF et les HES participeront au développement du programme avec leurs propres moyens. Certaines activités transversales concernant l'ensemble des hautes écoles - financées en particulier dans le cadre des mandats - pourront être financées par le programme.

Le financement du programme Campus virtuel suisse s'inscrit dans le cadre des nouvelles contributions liées à des projets selon la nouvelle LAU. Ce n'est qu'après la fin du délai référendaire (3 février 2000) que le Conseil fédéral pourra arrêter l'ordonnance et fixer l'entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle loi. Selon les informations de l'administration fédérale, ces décisions seront prises dans le courant du mois de février. Le cas échéant, certains compléments d'information pourraient encore être apportés à ce moment-là.

Contributions propres des universités partenaires d'un projet

Selon les dispositions arrêtées à ce jour (LAU art. 21, al. 1 et 2; Message du Conseil fédéral concernant l'encouragement de la formation, de la recherche et de la technologie durant la période 2000 2003), les institutions universitaires participant à un projet (ou les cantons universitaires concernés) sont tenues en principe à contribuer à raison de 50 pour cent du coût du projet. Dans des cas exceptionnels important effort de coordination et prise en charge d'une grande part du développement d'un projet au profit des autres institutions universitaires la contribution de la Confédération peut atteindre 70 pour cent.

La mise à disposition d'appareils et de moyens d'exploitation, de contributions aux frais de réunion et de voyage, les loyers des locaux loués spécialement pour la réalisation du programme ainsi que les salaires des collaborateurs au projet peuvent être pris en considération lors du calcul de la contribution propre de l'institution. A cet égard, des coûts d'overhead de 20% des salaires pourraient être pris en compte pour autant qu'ils ne figurent pas aussi sous d'autres points. Cependant, la contribution de l'institution devrait comprendre aussi bien le financement de dépenses spécialement engagées pour le projet Campus virtuel suisse ('real money') que des contributions en nature de l'institution, soit la mise à disposition du programme Campus virtuel suisse de personnel ou d'appareils et moyens d'exploitation de l'institution, qui servent déjà à d'autres activités de l'institution ('virtual money').

Coûts et financement du projet proposé

Les coûts des projets peuvent comprendre les dépenses suivantes: les salaires selon l'usage local (salaires bruts), les appareils et installations (y c. frais de logiciels/licences), les moyens d'exploitation, les loyers des locaux loués spécialement ainsi que les frais de réunion et de voyage. La partie principale des dépenses financées par le programme doit néanmoins porter sur les salaires. A cet égard, il y lieu de préciser qu'il n'est pas prévu de financer par l'intermédiaire du programme le salaire de doctorants, étant donné qu'il ne s'agit pas d'activités de recherche mais essentiellement de développement.

Veuillez indiquer dans le formulaire, pour chacune des années du projet, d'une part, les dépenses prévues articulées selon les différentes catégories et, d'autre part, le financement envisagé. Celui-ci comprendra, d'une part, pour chacun des partenaires, les contributions en espèce ('real money') et les contributions en nature ('virtual money') ainsi que, d'autre part, le financement attendu du programme Campus virtuel suisse.

 

Coûts totaux du projet

Projet No: Coûts Financement requérant principal Financement partenaire 1 Financement partenaire 2 Financement partenaire 3 Financement partenaires Sous-total requérant principal + partenaires Financement demandé du Campus Virtuel Suisse
Salaires Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr.
Coûts d'exploitation Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr.
Appareils/installations Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr.
Déplacement Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr.
Total Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr. Fr.

Coûts par année

Année

Total

coûts

Contribution du requérant principal + partenaires

Contribution du requérant principal + partenaires (% des coûts totaux)

Financement demandé du Campus Virtuel Suisse

2000

Fr.

Fr.

%

Fr.

2001

Fr.

Fr.

%

Fr.

2002

Fr.

Fr.

%

Fr.

2003

Fr.

Fr.

%

Fr.

Total

Fr.

Fr.

%

Fr.

Contributions des requérants du projet

Chef de projet et partenaires

"Real money"

"Virtual money"

Total

Contribution de chaque partenaire en %

Requérant principal

Fr.

Fr.

Fr.

%

Partenaire 1

Fr.

Fr.

Fr.

%

Partenaire 2

Fr.

Fr.

Fr.

%

Partenaire 3

Fr.

Fr.

Fr.

%

Autres partenaires

Fr.

Fr.

Fr.

%

Total

Fr.

Fr.

Fr.

100 %